Lucky To Come Away With Draw

under 17 mid ulster 1718Lurgan Town U17s played host to Lisbellaw on our Arena pitch on Saturday. The game started with Town giving Lisbellaw plenty of possession and space. Town were very sluggish in the early stages. Rivaldo Teggart made three decent saves before a counter attack saw Lurgan gain a corner which was initially cleared only for the ball to bobble in the area and bounce up and hit a Lisbellaw hand. A penalty was given and Niall McBride stepped up and converted to make it 1-0 Town.

Lisbellaw were soon rewarded after more pressure when a miss hit cross was miss handled by Rivaldo to make it 1-1. Just before half-time the best move of the 1st half; the ball was played from defence into midfield and a through ball which Niall McBride latch onto to score only for the Lisbellaw coach to blow for offside. Half Time 1-1.

The second half started much the same but Town then started getting a grip of the game and were rewarded with some superb midfield and attacking inter play started by Gary Judt out the left to Joshua Pugh then passed to Niall McBride who crossed it to the on running Adam Leathem who slotted home after busting a gut with a 3rd man midfield run. 2-1 Town.

Lurgan then went searching for another goal to see off the game, with Lisbellaw now playing on the counter attack. Soon Lisbellaw broke and created a chance which resulted in a corner. The resulting corner was cleared only to fall at a Lisbellaw player’s feet who ruffled past 3 poor challenges to slot the ball past Rivaldo. 2-2 at this point and Lisbellaw’s tail were up. When Town tried to play offside a Lisbellaw player went through and scored only to see his effort chalked off for offside.

Town then went on the attack again and more good interplay saw Bailey Finlay unmarked and with the goal gaping he put the ball over the bar… it wouldn’t have counted anyway as he was adjudged offside. FT 2-2

Town didn’t play well and on reflection were lucky to get a draw. Fair play to Lisbellaw who played some good stuff. MOTM for Town was Jay McPolin followed closely by Adam Leathem.