MU16s Dismantle Rangers

under-16-mid-ulsterTown Mid Ulster U16s played Banbridge Rangers today looking for their first league win of 2017.  From the kick off Lurgan Town took control of midfield with the dynamic duo of Ryan Henry and Jay McPolin, having his first start as a central midfielder.  Along with the two wingers Alex Wheelan and Denver Eillott the Banbridge defense was under constant pressure.  It wasn’t long before the boys got their first goal Adam Woolsey finishing with a driving shot.  The second followed shortly after Adam Woolsey playing Denver Eillott in with a defense splitting pass and Denver slotting  home at the far post under pressure from the right back. Banbridge attacks were few and far between due ti the strong display from our back four.  A big shout out for Travis Barr playing in central defense for the first time who showed composure and grit.  Rangers goal came from a hopeful cross from the left looping over everyone’s head and nestling in the far corner if our goal.  Half time 2-1

After half time it was more of the same, very good flowing football with Niall McBride going close on a number of occasions.  Following a through ball by Ryan Henry, Niall with one touch to control volleyed the ball into the back of the net from the edge of the ‘D’.

The fourth followed closely from Niall who chipped the keeper after been played through by Denver Eillott.  The fifth from Rivaldo Teggert came from a press by Rivaldo on the right back and after been played through by Ryan blasted the ball into the roof of the net.  Niall hat trick came courtesy of Denver being upended in the box and Niall slotted the penelty home comfortably from the spot.  6-1 away from home.  The mid ulster boys thoroughly deserved their win, playing well all seson but not getting the results.  Today they proved that they have the spirit, heart and desire to go forward.  Well done boys.

Team: Joshua Pugh, Matthew Maye, Adam Hodgkinson, Andrew Ferguson, Travis Barr, Ryan Henry, Jay McPolin, Alex Wheelan, Denver Eillott, Adam Woolsey, Niall McBride, Rivaldo Teggert, Scott Turkington, Ethan Rice, Leo Cousins.