First Win Of New Year

Town under 15’s returned to league action against Moira Albion determined to begin 2019 with a win under their belts. Early on things didn’t seem to be going quite to plan, with only 10 minutes on the clock Town found themselves behind when a player was dispossessed on the touchline, the ball was quickly whipped across goal, Kyle Thompson bravely rose to clear the cross but with his eye keenly on the ball he collided with the post having to be withdrawn for a period, an opposition striker quickly pounced on the unfortunate incident nipping in to tuck the loose ball in the net, thankfully Kyle recovered from his knock and was able to be reintroduced later on in the game. While slow starting Town still seemed to be in relative control with no need to panic and patiently building up their play with the feeling that the equaliser was never far away. A couple of close calls for Moira with Johnstone hitting the crossbar and Ben Cullen putting a long distance shot just over before Josh Johnstone released Ronan Watkins who put the ball beyond the keeper to draw level, Johnstone pulled Town into the lead not long after when running with the ball into the box he got his shot away coming in off the far post and across the line to make it 2-1 at half time.

Town knew they had to push on the second half to put the tie beyond reach and earned a penalty when Ben Cullen was felled in the box, Ronan Watkins stepped up and sent the keeper the wrong way to make it 3-1 to the Lurgan boys claiming his second goal for the day. Mackenzie Craig made it four, when dribbling past 2 players he tucked the ball in behind the keeper. Spencer Young was unfortunate on a couple of occasions before rounding of the goals for the day, when he collected a Jake Turner cross, he found himself with his back to goal and still all to do twisting and turning he got his shot away to give the Lurgan side a much deserved 5-1 result.

Another important 3 points collected today with another very tough game next week against Lurgan Celtic who continued their impressive run on Friday night.

Team: James Hamilton, Tom Leatham, Kyle Thompson, Adam Vennard, James Maguire, Aidan Cassidy, Ben Cullen, Josh Johnston (1), Ronan Watkins (2), Mackenzie Craig (1), Ethan Gorman, Mark Christie, Spencer Young (1), Ricardo Aruajo, Jake Turner.